MuscleMeds Carnivor Protein - Hydrolyzed Beef Protein Isolate

89,90 €

23g of hydrolyzed beef protein per 33.9g serving.120 kcal, zero fat, zero cholesterol.

Lactose-free, gluten-free.This is what makes it stand out: the solution when whey isn't an option.

The taste is nothing like whey.It's beef and cocoa: better to know before ordering than after.

Servings: 56 servings
Flavour: Chocolate

In stock - Ready to be shipped

What is MuscleMeds Carnivor?

MuscleMeds Carnivor is a protein powder whose source is neither milk nor plants, but beef. The raw material is a hydrolysed beef protein isolate, listed on the label under the name CARNIVOR-BPI®. Hydrolysed means the protein chains have been broken down in advance; isolate means purification has been taken far enough to strip out the fats.

The result tastes and feels nothing like meat stock: that is the most common worry we hear across the counter, and it is unfounded. The range covers chocolate-led profiles such as Cookies & Cream or Chocolate-Peanut Butter; the flavours and sizes available are listed above the add-to-basket button. The figures below refer to the cocoa version: other flavours may differ on the ingredient list, and the label on the tub you receive is the authority.

The formula does not stop at the protein. MuscleMeds also adds BCAAs (L-leucine, L-valine, L-isoleucine), which appear in the ingredient list immediately after the isolate, along with four intermediates of nitrogen metabolism grouped under the name Anabolic Nitrogen Retention Technology™: GKG (glutamine alpha-ketoglutarate), OKG (ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate), AKG (alpha-ketoglutarate) and KIC (alpha-ketoisocaproate). One thing to know if these additions are what draw you in: not one of them is quantified on the label. We mention them because they are in the composition, not because they promise anything — for BCAAs at a known dose, the BCAA aisle is what you should be looking at, not this label. The product itself sits in our beef protein aisle.

What does a serving of Carnivor contain?

The reference scoop weighs 33.9 g. Here is what it delivers, taken from the tub label on the cocoa version.

Nutrient Per 33.9 g serving % NRV*
Energy 120 kcal 6 %
Fat 0 g 0 %
of which saturates 0 g 0 %
Carbohydrate 6 g 2 %
of which sugars not disclosed
Fibre 1 g
Protein 23 g 46 %
Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 350 mg
Potassium 220 mg 11 %
Iron 1 mg 7 %

* The original label is American and publishes no European percentages: this column is calculated from the nutrient reference values in Annex XIII of Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011. A dash indicates that no NRV has been established for the line concerned.

The ratio worth remembering is this one: 23 g of protein for 120 kcal. At 4 kcal per gram, those 23 g account for 92 kcal, or roughly 77 % of the serving's energy. The "high in protein" claim requires at least 20 % of the energy value: Carnivor is comfortably above that, with no need to round anything up. Zero fat, 6 g of carbohydrate of which 1 g fibre: that is an isolate profile, and it explains why we mostly see this product going out during cutting phases.

The "of which sugars" line is not quantified by the manufacturer, but the label carries the wording Sugar Free, alongside Fat Free, Cholesterol Free, Lactose Free and Gluten Free; the tub is also declared Halal, and carries the American wording contains bioengineered food ingredients, which has no mandatory equivalent in France. What the manufacturer does not publish, we do not reconstruct: no per-100 g column, no amino acid profile, no quantity of added BCAAs. Salt is not declared either, only sodium is, at 350 mg.

On protein, the permitted wordings are precise and we stick to them: it contributes to a growth in muscle mass, to the maintenance of muscle mass and to the maintenance of normal bones. There is no recovery claim for protein, contrary to what many labels imply. The protein aisle lets you compare the different families against these same criteria.

How do you prepare Carnivor?

One 33.9 g scoop in 180 to 240 ml of cold water — the range given by the manufacturer, 6 to 8 fl oz — shaken for 30 seconds in a shaker. One to two servings a day depending on your protein needs and your bodyweight. No course duration is stated, and there is no reason to set one for a protein.

That range matters: 180 ml gives a thick shake and a pronounced cocoa flavour, 240 ml a drink that is easier to get down straight after a session. Start at the higher end, then cut back if the taste seems too light.

The usual timings: within 30 minutes after training, between meals to keep intake steady, or at bedtime. That last point deserves to be kept in perspective: what determines the result is your total protein across twenty-four hours, not the time you take it.

One detail of the composition explains a detail of use: the ingredient list includes an anti-foaming agent. Hydrolysed beef protein foams in a shaker, and the manufacturer has dealt with the problem in the formula. If a little foam remains, let it stand for two minutes. Unlike a whey, Carnivor is made up with water: milk adds nothing here except calories and the very lactose you were trying to avoid.

Who is Carnivor right for, and who is it not right for?

The soundest use case: you digest milk proteins poorly, or you have had enough of taking them three times a day, and you are looking for another source. Carnivor is lactose free and gluten free, and it delivers 23 g of protein without a drop of fat. When cutting, that profile is hard to beat.

It is not suitable in several situations. The manufacturer contraindicates it for pregnant and breastfeeding women, advises against it for under-18s, and asks that you seek medical advice first if you are on any ongoing treatment. Above all: this product contains soya. RBD soya oil is not a trace picked up in the factory, it is a component of the anti-foaming agent, written into the ingredient list. If you are allergic to soya, this product is not for you.

Something else to know before ordering: 350 mg of sodium per serving. For a protein powder that is notable, and there is a reason for it — salt appears in the ingredient list. At one or two servings a day it remains a fraction of an adult's daily intake, but if your doctor has asked you to limit sodium, factor it in.

What you should not expect from it: beef protein is not superior to whey for building muscle. The public data does not allow that claim, and nobody should be selling it to you on that basis. It is different, which is already a good enough reason when milk is a problem. And 23 g of protein is a supplement, not a meal.

Carnivor or a whey isolate?

On paper the two look alike: high protein content, few carbohydrates, little or no fat. The difference lies in the source, in what your digestion makes of it, and in what the manufacturer is willing to publish.

A whey isolate remains the better choice in three cases. The price per gram of protein, first of all, which is generally more favourable. The amino acid profile next: whey is naturally rich in leucine, the amino acid most studied for protein synthesis, and most manufacturers publish their amino acid profile. Carnivor's is not published, which rules out any numerical comparison. And finally versatility in cooking, where whey behaves better. If lactose is your only concern, a whey isolate already contains very little of it: the problem is often solved without changing source at all, and a hydrolysed whey takes that reasoning further still.

Carnivor comes out ahead on two concrete points. It is completely free of milk proteins, which genuinely matters in cases of diagnosed cow's milk protein allergy — a case where a whey isolate remains contraindicated, however low in lactose it may be. And it varies your sources: boredom is the number one reason a tub of protein gets abandoned. If it is the amino acid side that interests you rather than complete protein, look at the EAA range, where the doses are published line by line.

Frequently asked questions

Does Carnivor taste of meat?

No. Hydrolysis and purification remove most of the aromatic compounds from beef, and the added flavour covers the rest: on the cocoa version, cocoa is what you taste. The surprise is more the texture, thinner than a whey, without the creaminess milk brings.

How much BCAA does a serving provide?

That is not published. The BCAAs are indeed added and appear in the ingredient list after the isolate and before the maltodextrin, which places their rank without quantifying them. The manufacturer gives neither a quantity nor an amino acid profile, and we will not invent those values.

Does it contain lactose or gluten?

No. The source is beef, and the label carries the Lactose Free and Gluten Free wordings. That is precisely what makes the product interesting for people who struggle with milk proteins.

Does it contain soya?

Yes. RBD soya oil goes into the composition of the anti-foaming agent, and it is listed as an ingredient, not as a manufacturing trace. That distinction matters if you have a soya allergy: this is not a contamination risk, it is a certain presence.

What are the GKG, OKG, AKG and KIC listed in the ingredients?

Amino acid derivatives paired with alpha-ketoglutarate, present in the CARNIVOR-BPI® formula. Their doses are not disclosed and no health claim is authorised in Europe for these compounds: we mention them because they appear on the label, without attributing any effect to them.

How much sodium per serving?

350 mg per 33.9 g serving, a notable figure for a protein powder and consistent with the presence of salt in the ingredient list. The manufacturer does not convert that sodium into a salt equivalent on its label, and we are not going to do it in its place.

Can it be mixed with milk?

Technically yes, but it makes little sense: the whole point of the product is precisely the absence of milk proteins. If you tolerate milk, you may as well take a whey. With water, allow 180 to 240 ml per scoop.

How many servings are in a tub?

Two sizes exist, 28 servings and 56 servings; the choice is made above the add-to-basket button, at the same time as the flavour. The count is based on the 33.9 g scoop and appears on the tub label.

Where to buy MuscleMeds Carnivor?

Flavours and sizes can be ordered on this page. We ship throughout France and Europe. In Vendargues, about ten minutes from Montpellier, this is a product we reach for when customers come back saying no whey suits them: that is where it really comes into its own.

The rest of the brand's catalogue can be found in the MuscleMeds collection. For other milk-free sources, see egg protein and plant proteins.

CARNIVOR-BPI[Hydrolyzed beef protein isolate - nitrogen retention intermediates: GKG (glutamine alpha-ketoglutarate), OKG (ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate), AKG (alpha-ketoglutarate), KIC (alpha-ketoisocaproate)], BCAAs (L-leucine, L-valine, L-isoleucine), maltodextrin, cocoa, natural and artificial flavors, salt, silica, acesulfame K, xanthan gum, sunflower lecithin, sucralose, anti-foaming agent (propylene glycol mono- and diesters of fatty acids, fatty acid monoglyceride, polyglyceryl oleate, RBD soybean oil, dimethylpolysiloxane, hydrophobic silica, polysorbate 60K, sorbitan monostearate, contains less than 2% paraffin).

Allergens: Contains soy(RBD soybean oil in anti-foaming agent). Lactose-free, gluten-free.

List taken from the label of the cocoa version. Other flavors may differ: the label on the tub you receive is authoritative.



Dosage:1 scoop (36.4 g) in 200 ml of cold water. Shake for 30 seconds.

Frequency:1 to 2 servings per day depending on your dietary intake and body weight.

Timing:after your workout, between meals, or before bed.

Preparation:The powder will foam after mixing, which is normal. Let it sit for two minutes, or blend for a smoother texture.

Storage:Keep the container closed, in a dry place and away from light.

Nutrition Factsper 1 scoop (33.9 g), according to the product label:

  • Calories: 120 kcal
  • Protein: 23 g
  • Carbohydrates: 6 g, of which 1 g dietary fiber
  • Fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 350 mg
  • Potassium: 220 mg
  • Iron: 1 mg

The manufacturer does not publish amino acid details or the amount of added BCAAs.

⚠️ Important warnings:

  • Do not exceed the recommended daily dose
  • This product is not a substitute for a varied and balanced diet
  • Contraindicatedin pregnant and breastfeeding women
  • Not recommended for children under 18 years of age
  • Consult a doctor before use if undergoing medical treatment
  • Allergens: May contain traces of soy
  • Store in a cool, dry place, away from humidity
  • Keep out of reach of children
MuscleMeds Carnivor Beef Protein - Hydrolysed Beef Protein Isolate MuscleMeds

89,90 €

89,90 €

23g of hydrolyzed beef protein for 120 kcalper 33.9g serving. Lactose-free, gluten-free, and fat-free, mix with 180-240ml of cold water.

Selected products

Our experts rigorously select each product for its quality, effectiveness, and traceability. Nothing is left to chance.

Shop near Montpellier

Visit us in Vendargues for personalized advice and close contact with our loyal customers.

Fast and free delivery on orders over €50

Order with complete peace of mind: fast delivery in France from €50, in Europe from €100, with guaranteed tracking.

5/5 on Guaranteed Reviews Company

Over 1000 satisfied customers! A perfect rating that reflects our professionalism, our attentiveness and our commitment to quality.